REVIEW: Escape Room is an inventive take on technologically advanced horror

PUBLISHED: 12:22 07 February 2019

Fans of Saw and Final Destination will enjoy Escape Room. Picture: FACEBOOK/ESCAPE ROOM.

Fans of Saw and Final Destination will enjoy Escape Room. Picture: FACEBOOK/ESCAPE ROOM.

Archant

A horror thriller fuelled by technological traps which pits six strangers against one another in a survival of the fittest scenario, Escape Room is an

Fans of Saw and Final Destination will enjoy Escape RoomFans of Saw and Final Destination will enjoy Escape Room

inventive take on a modern phenomenon that’s usually a fun night out for friends and family members.

The premise works at first - bringing a group of people, without any connection, together to try and win $10,000 if they can make it through each of the escape rooms.

The rooms are found to be hi-tech and painstakingly designed (quite literally) and the premise impressively inventive, but the plot - including a twist near the end that borders on the absurd - could have been tightened up a lot more.

The characters are portrayed well, though, and, crucially, each has their own painful back story - suppressing their past demons until they are forced to relive their nightmares.

Fans of Saw and Final Destination will find it a worthy watch, thanks to the innovative kill rooms - but it’s more gory than scary.

Escape Room is now showing at The Light Cinema in Wisbech.

For screening dates, times and tickets visit www.wisbech.lightcinemas.co.uk/escape-room


If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Wisbech Standard. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the Wisbech Standard