Friday, December 7, 2018

A special memorial service was held at St Peter’s Church in Wisbech last weekend to commemorate the life of the town’s famous Octavia Hill.

Read more
Octavia Hill
Friday, November 2, 2018

A day dedicated to a Wisbech-born pioneer who helped to inspire the generation that answered the call to arms in the First World War is set to be marked with a string of celebratory events.

Read more
Octavia Hill
Sunday, October 21, 2018

Wisbech walked away with one of the top awards in the Royal Horticultural Society’s (RHS) annual Britain in Bloom awards ceremony in Belfast on Friday.

Read more
Octavia Hill
Thursday, September 13, 2018

A plaque has been unveiled in memory of Ann Carlisle, a former Wisbech mayor and chairman of Fenland District Council, who died aged 81 in October 2016.

Read more
Octavia Hill
Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Beefy bishops and king-sized castles were treading a giant sized board on Centenary Green in Wisbech (on Friday July 20) to mark International Chess Day.

Read more
Octavia Hill
Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Staff at Octavia Hill’s Birthplace House are calling for book lovers to help with cataloguing the museum’s large book collection.

Read more
Octavia Hill
Thursday, June 21, 2018

A group of travellers who set up illegal encampments in Ely and Littleport before moving onto Wisbech are today being served an eviction order.

Read more
Steve Barclay
Tuesday, June 19, 2018

A plaque has been unveiled in Wisbech to honour the man who brought the Rolling Stones to the town.

Read more
Octavia Hill
Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Two reformers who shared Octavia Hill’s passions and enthusiasms have been remembered at the house in Wisbech where she was born.

Read more
Octavia Hill
Monday, May 21, 2018

Hundreds of runners – including some in wigs and tutus - were showered in a rainbow explosion of paint as Wisbech’s annual Brinks Colour Run returned to the town yesterday (Sunday May 20).

Read more
Octavia Hill
Tuesday, May 8, 2018

A new flag has been raised over Centenary Green in Wisbech celebrating the town’s famous Octavia Hill, the co-founder of the National Trust.

Read more
Octavia Hill
Monday, April 30, 2018

The mother of a Wisbech social reformer has taken her place in a memorial to unsung heroes.

Read more
Octavia Hill
Monday, April 23, 2018

A plaque commemorating Octavia Hill’s mother, Caroline Southwood Hill, is to be unveiled at the birthplace house in Wisbech this weekend.

Read more
Octavia Hill
Tuesday, March 6, 2018

A bid to pitch practice opportunities at a broader range of instrumentalists has been unveiled at Octavia Hill’s Birthplace House in Wisbech.

Read more
Octavia Hill

Most read stories

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Wisbech Standard e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Wisbech Standard weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy