Wisbech Town celebrate league campaign with end-of-season presentation awards

Wisbech Town's Paul Cousins and Stuart Cobb, who were presented with caricatures of themselves at th

Wisbech Town's Paul Cousins and Stuart Cobb, who were presented with caricatures of themselves at the club's presentation night. - Credit: Archant

Wisbech Town handed out awards to players and staff at the club at its annual presentation night.

The Fenmen finished an inconsistent UCL Premier Division campaign in eighth, and will hope to mount a title challenge next season under boss Dick Creasey, who was confirmed as full-time manager at the awards last Saturday night.

Wisbech also secured a place in the final of the Cambs Invitation Cup, where they will play Cambridge City. The tie is set to take place in pre-season after being postponed.

Players from the club’s first team, reserves and youth set-up were rewarded for their work, as well as the club’s staff and supporters.

The winners were as follows:

You may also want to watch:

Supporters Club ‘Star’ Awards (presented by Mary Gower):

Deven Thompson (helping with Ladies team)

Most Read

Tim Buckenham (helping with Reserves)

Jimmy Peachy (match steward)

Roy Brand (helping with Reserves)

Reece Hughes (helping with Reserves – assistant referee)

250 Appearances:

Paul Cousins

Special Awards (caricature of themselves):

Paul Cousins

Stuart Cobb

Supporters’ 1st Team Player of the Season (presented by Karen Ball):

Scott Johnson

Supporters’ Reserves Player of the Season (presented by Sarah James):

Jack Brand

Reserves Awards (presented by Danny Hughes & Mel Mattless):

Leading Goalscorer:

Neil Goodbourn (18 goals)

Players’ Player of the Season:

Dale Palmer

Danny’s Manager’s Player of the Season:

Ryan Charalambous

Special Award for being an excellent Club Assistant Referee:

Reece Hughes

Mel’s Manager’s Player of the Season:

Luke Whyatt

First Team Awards (presented by Paul Brenchley):

Players’ Player of the Season and Manager’s Player of the Season:

Scott Johnson

Leading Goalscorer (three-way tie - 14 goals each):

Adam Millson

Billy Smith

Matt Sparrow

Clubman of the Year:

Jason Wright

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter