National heritage open day
PUBLISHED: 15:44 11 September 2006 | UPDATED: 19:48 01 June 2010
THERE was a chance for visitors to look behind closed doors when Wisbech took part in a national heritage open day. Buildings usually closed to the public or where there is an admission charge threw open their doors allowing visitors to view some stunning
THERE was a chance for visitors to look behind closed doors when Wisbech took part in a national heritage open day.
Buildings usually closed to the public or where there is an admission charge threw open their doors allowing visitors to view some stunning buildings and treasures.
The event has been held for several years but this weekend was the first time visitors were allowed into Peckover House free of charge.
A spokesman for Wisbech Tourist Information said the weekend had been very successful with many visitors in town for the folk festival taking the opportunity to look around the buildings taking part in the event.
Buildings open to the public included the Friends Meeting House in North Brink. The Friends have been meeting on the site since 1711 with the present building dating back to 1854. The grave of Jane Stuart, the illegitimate daughter of King James II, can be seen in the graveyard along with those of members of the Peckover family.
The former Wesleyan Chapel in The Crescent which is now a Masonic Temple attracted many visitors. Astral House, the Angles Theatre, and the town council chamber were also busy.
Visitors to St Peter's Church had the chance to climb the stone steps of the 16th Century tower to enjoy spectacular views over Wisbech and the Fens.
Wisbech castle and Wisbech and Fenland Museum also proved to be popular attractions. The Rose & Crown Hotel provided conducted tours allowing visitors to explore the former coaching inn which was once visited by Queen Victoria and featured in the BBC period drama 'Martin Chuzzlewit'.
Leverington Road Cemetery, currently being developed as a pocket park for tourism, heritage, education and wildlife uses was on the visiting list for many as was The Cage Interpretation centre in Parson Drove. The Cage was once a village lock-up and is now a mini museum.
If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Wisbech Standard. Click the link in the orange box below for details.