Elgood’s wins national award for its Spring Challenge beer

PUBLISHED: 14:34 18 March 2015 | UPDATED: 14:34 18 March 2015

Elgood's Spring Challenge beer won a national award.

Elgood's Spring Challenge beer won a national award.


A Fenland family-run brewers has won a national award for its Spring Challenge beer.

Elgood’s, of Wisbech, won the J D Wetherspoon Standard Bitter Class category at its national beer festival.

Spring Challenge (3.7 per cent ABV), a light coloured beer, was chosen out of a field of 50 beers following a blind tasting session. Judges included brewers, CAMRA (Campaign for Real Ale) members and Wetherspoon staff.

Last year, Elgood’s Plum Porter won its Speciality Class at the same festival.

Festival organiser David Aucutt said: “Many of the judges attending this competition commented on the overall high standard of the beers they tasted, so to have won this award was certainly an achievement.

“Having sampled Spring Challenge, I would like to congratulate Elgood’s on providing us with a beer that has such a superbly balanced character and an impressively full flavour for a beer of this strength.”

Beers were divided into classes and judged blindly by the panel, which included:

Belinda Sutton, managing director of Elgood’s, said: “To win this award against such tough competition is excellent news and to receive best in class for an Elgood’s beer two year’s running is a tribute to our brewing team.”

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the Wisbech Standard. Click the link in the orange box below for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years, through good times and bad, serving as your advocate and trusted source of local information. Our industry is facing testing times, which is why I’m asking for your support. Every single contribution will help us continue to produce award-winning local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Thank you.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the Wisbech Standard