Tuesday, November 6, 2018

A utility company did a U-turn tonight and agreed to complete the job of re-painting road signs in Fordham near Newmarket after their earlier efforts left villagers seething.

Read more
Twitter
Thursday, November 1, 2018

A celebrity entourage of gritters - including Brad Grit and Grittney Spears - are getting ready to tackle the cold weather as temperatures start to plummet across Cambridgeshire.

Read more
Cambridgeshire County Council
Monday, October 15, 2018

Two police officers were injured, including one hit over the head with a glass, breaking up a brawl in a Wisbech pub.

Read more
Cambridgeshire Police
Monday, October 15, 2018

A police officer was hit over the head with a glass in a serious disorder in Fenland over the weekend.

Read more
Twitter
Tuesday, October 9, 2018

Neale-Wade Academy in March will open as normal tomorrow after being closed today due to a gas leak.

Read more
Neale Wade
Thursday, October 4, 2018

A businessman from Soham is more than half way through running 21 obstacle races in aid of the Great Ormond Street Hospital in London.

Read more
Twitter
Friday, September 28, 2018

Tom Hunt is preparing for his new life as Conservative candidate for Ipswich with a pledge to fight for the town’s infrastructure . . . and a promise that he “knows his way around Whitehall.”

Read more
Conservative Party
Thursday, September 27, 2018

Seven people have been arrested in connection with burglary offences.

Read more
Fenland Police
Monday, September 24, 2018

Three large bales of hay have been left on the roadside in Whittlesey this afternoon.

Read more
Fenland Police
Tuesday, September 4, 2018

The job of a parish councillor is not always the most glamorous one – but now there are calls for the job to be “sexed up” in order to attract more people to the role.

Read more
Twitter
Tuesday, August 28, 2018

A March postman has raised £1,400 with his latest hike to raise money for a children’s charity.

Read more
Twitter
Saturday, August 25, 2018

For Coby, Shadow and Reba every week can be a holiday – or as they might prefer to describe it a stay-cat-ion!

Read more
Twitter
Thursday, August 16, 2018

The world of Twitter has been put on ‘cat watch’ to help a Cambridgeshire journalist find his beloved pet.

Read more
Twitter
Monday, July 30, 2018

Javelin thrower Goldie Sayers is set to finally receive a bronze medal from the 2008 Olympics - after the second placed athlete failed to overturn a doping ban.

Read more
BBC
Friday, July 27, 2018

A former Cambridgeshire county councillor who is facing charges of perverting the course of justice has “strongly refuted” breaking the law and promised to keep “standing up” for her constituents.

Read more
Cambridgeshire County Council
Thursday, July 12, 2018

A man who died after being hit by a car in Chatteris last weekend has been named.

Read more
Cambridgeshire Police
Monday, July 9, 2018

A man died at the scene of a road collision in Chatteris at the weekend.

Read more
Cambridgeshire Police
Monday, July 2, 2018

Volunteers, sponsors, entertainers, stall-holders and prizes are needed ahead of the first ever Pride in Ely event.

Read more
Twitter
Monday, June 25, 2018

The woman who became the first Lord-Lieutenant of Cambridgeshire to join Twitter says her first year in office has been “hectic and remarkable.”

Read more
Twitter
Friday, June 22, 2018

Outdoor British Championships (June 16, 17)

Read more
Arthur Buckler
Monday, June 11, 2018

Four Wisbech men are making a name for themselves playing American Football.

Read more
Twitter
Wednesday, May 30, 2018

Local speed skating team, Wisbech Inline Speed, were in Birmingham at the weekend taking part in the second of three back-to-back races held across the country.

Read more
Arthur Buckler
Tuesday, May 8, 2018

“Could somebody bring me a packet of cigarettes?” Those were the words of a 999 caller to Cambridgeshire Police.

Read more
Cambridgeshire Police
Thursday, April 26, 2018

A Tory council candidate from Cambridgeshire has been suspended by his party - a week before polling day – for offensive comments made on Twitter.

Read more
Conservative Party
Wednesday, April 25, 2018

An Ely minister is backing a campaign to allow the parents of a seriously ill toddler to travel to Italy with him for life saving treatment in a row over whether he should continue to be kept alive by an oxygen machine..

Read more
Twitter
Saturday, April 21, 2018

Sue Slack, a former librarian and researcher into women’s’ history from March gave The March Society a fascinating summary of the campaign work done by Cambridgeshire women as part of the suffragette movement.

Read more
Twitter
Tuesday, April 17, 2018

A teenager has been caught doing more than 120mph on the A47 on the first day of a week-long police campaign targeting speeding drivers.

Read more
Twitter
Sunday, April 15, 2018

Two people have been taken to hospital with serious injuries following a collision in Wisbech.

Read more
Twitter
Wednesday, April 4, 2018

Dozens of motorists tried to cross the flooded A1101 Welney Wash Road after no action was taken to close it as highways bosses failed to pick up a warning from the Environment Agency (EA).

Read more
Environment Agency
Monday, March 26, 2018

Former mayor Nick Meekins criticised Wisbech Town Council for not sending a representative to the funeral of another former mayor, Patrick O’Dell.

Read more
Samantha Hoy

Most read stories

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Wisbech Standard e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Wisbech Standard weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy