Friday, November 17, 2017

Dozens of FACET students spent this morning perfecting their Pudsey Bears as the charity college for adults with learning difficulties raised money for BBC Children In Need.

Read more
BBC
Friday, November 10, 2017

Chief constable Alec Wood has come under fire for judging a children’s drawing competition – days after saying that a Fenland officer posing for Halloween photos was a poor use of police time.

Read more
Alec Wood
Wednesday, November 8, 2017

A house in Soham has been covered in Christmas decorations since September and there’s still more to be added.

Read more
BBC
Tuesday, November 7, 2017

A new pop-up restaurant is opening in Wisbech on Saturday November 11 at the Octavia Hill Birthplace Museum.

Read more
BBC
Monday, October 30, 2017

A recent BBC Antiques Roadshow featured the story of how an Ely man gave Queen Mary a lift to Cambridge. But there is more to the story than they - or the family –knew. Here is MIKE PETTY’S version.

Read more
BBC
Thursday, October 26, 2017

A former BBC Food Personality of the Year winner is to host an Indian banquet at Wisbech Grammar School next week.

Read more
Wisbech Grammar School
Monday, October 23, 2017

With a splendid super food salad starter (that included kale, pomegranate, cous cous, orange, melon seeds and beetroot) the scene was set for a fabulous dinner.

Read more
Steve Tierney
Tuesday, October 3, 2017

It was the highlight of the business year – the 2017 Fenland Enterprise Business Awards. And the most successful to date.

Read more
Braza Club
Thursday, September 21, 2017

Two young people have joined Wisbech force as the first ‘police now’ graduates in Cambridgeshire.

Read more
BBC
Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Local radio presenter and broadcaster Paul Stainton is quitting the mid morning show and leaving BBC Radio Cambridgeshire to concentrate on his media and communications company.

Read more
BBC
Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Doddington paralympic hero Jonnie Peacock will appear on the BBC’s Strictly Come Dancing this year.

Read more
Jonnie Peacock
Friday, August 11, 2017

You Me At Six have been announced as the final headliners for Sundown Festival in Norwich.

Read more
Neale Wade
Tuesday, July 25, 2017

The arrogance of Cambridgeshire County Councillors awarding themselves a 30 per cent increase on their allowances beggars belief.

Read more
US Federal Reserve
Saturday, July 22, 2017

One of Cambridgeshire’s most influential business leaders –chamber of commerce chief executive John Bridge – claims that re-opening of the Wisbech to March rail link is a lame duck.

Read more
Steve Barclay
Thursday, July 20, 2017

“A credit to themselves, to Fenland and the In Bloom initiative across the entire country”.

Read more
Octavia Hill
Friday, July 14, 2017

The NR F1 Podcast takes to the airwaves to bring you its 2017 British Formula 1 Grand Prix preview.

Read more
BBC
Thursday, May 11, 2017

Hundreds of people enjoyed the glorious sunshine in Wisbech last weekend at Elgoods Brewery’s annual Craft and Plant Fair.

Read more
BBC
Sunday, May 7, 2017

Bletchley Park is to celebrate the centenary of Bill Tutte’s birth with a new exhibition about the elite codebreaker.

Read more
BBC
Wednesday, April 19, 2017

A health watchdog body, set up to protect patients, has admitted it wants to “avoid media attention on mesh.”

Read more
Kath Sansom
Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Grammy-nominated jazz singer Stacey Kent will perform at The Apex in Bury St Edmunds on Saturday April 29.

Read more
BBC
Friday, April 14, 2017

A play about women’s rights activist Sylvia Pankhurst is coming to Wisbech.

Read more
Rosmini Centre
Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Compensation of £550,000 has been paid by Cambridgeshire County Council to a woman – then 15 - who was sexually abused daily at a Whittlesey school in the 1990s.

Read more
Cambridgeshire County Council
Monday, April 10, 2017

BBC Look East journalist Sally Chidzoy has lodged an appeal after her harassment, bullying and discrimination case against her bosses was thrown out on a technicality.

Read more
UN Court
Thursday, April 6, 2017

I heard a talk the other day and I was bored rigid. Why are so many speeches being deliberately made so uninteresting?

Read more
BBC
Tuesday, March 28, 2017

A March radio presenter has been given his own show on BBC Radio Cambridgeshire.

Read more
BBC
Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Meadowgate School in Wisbech raised £287.50 for Comic Relief through the sale of red noses.

Read more
Meadowgate School
Thursday, March 23, 2017

A rapist who was at Whitemoor jail has been moved to a women-only prison after having gender reassignment surgery.

Read more
NHS
Monday, March 13, 2017

Farmers across East Anglia affected by the collapse of Wellgrain, one of the country’s largest regional grain merchants, face an uncertain time if they are among the 286 names on the list of creditors believed to be owed in excess of £15 million.

Read more
BBC
Friday, March 10, 2017

A local couple from Manea are the feature of BBC Two’s The House That 100K Built which airs Wednesday (15).

Read more
BBC
Wednesday, March 8, 2017

Irish country singer Brian Mann will perform at The Brook in Soham as part of a St Patrick’s Day celebration event.

Read more
BBC

Most read stories

Most commented stories

HOT JOBS

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Wisbech Standard e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter