Saturday, August 18, 2018

A Tory county councillor and former British diplomat is set to force a by election after only a year in office to take on a £100,000 directorship of the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority.

Read more
James Palmer
Wednesday, August 15, 2018

A politician has slammed a price hike on season rail tickets from Ely to London that she says is rising faster than people’s wages.

Read more
Germany
Sunday, August 12, 2018

It was a day when a headline grabbing cleric was put in his place, historic Ely Cathedral flew the LGBT Pride flag, and a city celebrated diversity and the elimination of discrimination on the grounds of sexuality.

Read more
NHS
Sunday, August 12, 2018

Babylon ARTS will host an afternoon of free live music at Ely’s Jubilee Garden’s bandstand on Saturday August 25.

Read more
Ely
Wednesday, July 18, 2018

The Church of England is to send a ‘hit’ squad into the Fens to encourage people back to church.

Read more
St Neots
Wednesday, July 4, 2018

More than 1,000 hand-painted rocks – made for Eel Day in May – will be displayed at this year’s Isle of Ely Primary School fete on Saturday (July 7).

Read more
Facebook
Friday, June 29, 2018

Visitors to Ely may spot a new landmark on the city’s horizon – a vast, new state-of-the-art storage facility for hundreds of thousands of books belonging to Cambridge University Library and other university collections.

Read more
Cambridge University
Monday, June 25, 2018

Ely’s annual raft race will return to the city this Sunday (July 1) as it celebrates its 40th anniversary – here’s everything you need to know about the day.

Read more
Ely
Friday, June 22, 2018

Two rail services from Ely to Cambridge are to be converted back to off-peak, saving commuters £1.50 per journey and allowing bicycles onboard.

Read more
Cambridge
Monday, June 18, 2018

A new living complex has been officially launched with the help of the Mayor of Ely, Councillor Mike Rouse, who joined local retirees for the grand opening.

Read more
Ely
Sunday, May 27, 2018

Wisbech Swimming Club was out in force for the City of Peterborough Swimming Club Last Chance Regional Qualifier gala over the weekend of April 13-15.

Read more
Harry Smith
Friday, May 25, 2018

A unique exhibition looking at the way Fenland people speak will be held at Wisbech Museum.

Read more
Ely
Friday, May 25, 2018

Environment Secretary Michael Gove has launched the government’s first tree health strategy following on from his visit to Ely yesterday.

Read more
Lucy Frazer
Thursday, May 24, 2018

Environment Secretary Michael Gove praised Cambridgeshire’s biggest tree nursery for being at ‘the cutting edge’ of protecting the environment.

Read more
Lucy Frazer
Saturday, May 19, 2018

A service that offers blind and partially sighted people the chance to listen to their local newspaper is being backed by Mayor of Ely, Councillor Richard Hobbs, the president for Fenprobe.

Read more
Ely
Tuesday, May 8, 2018

In 1996, to celebrate its reformation from the county of Humberside to East Riding of Yorkshire, an appointment for a town crier was created to help put the new county on the map.

Read more
Ely
Monday, April 30, 2018

An Ely family is spear heading a campaign to raise £2,000 for a life saving operation for a foster dog rescued from Romania.

Read more
United Kingdom
Sunday, April 22, 2018

Ely mayor Richard Hobbs arrived in all his civic finery – only to discard them moments later to take up the ‘hands on’ challenge of a group of woodturners.

Read more
United Kingdom
Saturday, April 14, 2018

One-hundred-and-thirty-seven East Cambridgeshire families were kept off the streets in the last six months thanks to an Ely-based advice charity.

Read more
East Cambs District Council
Friday, April 6, 2018

A series of excellent individual and league performances has seen Wisbech Swimming Club continuing the winning ways that took it to victory in last year’s prestigious Junior Fenland League.

Read more
Harry Smith
Thursday, April 5, 2018

A 44-year-old woman who received minor injuries after a car was hit by a train on a level crossing has been arrested on suspicion of causing an unlawful act with intent to endanger safety.

Read more
British Transport Police
Tuesday, April 3, 2018

The Farmland Museum is offering two free Maypole dancing workshops to teachers and youth and community workers.

Read more
Sweden
Sunday, February 25, 2018

With the mayor 10 months into his 12 month term of office, you might be forgiven for thinking Councillor Richard Hobbs and his wife Pat have begun to flag a little,

Read more
Ely
Monday, January 15, 2018

Home owners in Fenland are being hit with higher council tax bills than one of the richest boroughs in London.

Read more
Ely
Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Ely commuters have returned to work sour-faced this morning after finding out their season ticket to London has increased - topping the £5,000 barrier.

Read more
Labor
Friday, December 1, 2017

An East Cambs councillor suggested her own local authority might be viewed as trying to ‘dump on’ neighbouring Fenland by suggesting Roman Bank should be moved into a Norfolk Parliamentary constituency.

Read more
Lib Dem
Thursday, November 2, 2017

A night time swan feeding session at Welney was joined by a special guest - the daughter of Sir Peter Scott, founder of the Widlfowl and Wetlands Trust charity.

Read more
Ely
Saturday, October 21, 2017

Steam railways fans will have to wait three more weeks to see the Flying Scotsman in action – but will it visit Ely?

Read more
Twitter
Thursday, September 28, 2017

The sixth annual Prickwillow Engine Museum ploughing festival is going to be bigger than ever.

Read more
United Kingdom

Most read stories

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Wisbech Standard e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Wisbech Standard weekly newsletter
Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy