March railway station is setting for local author’s new psychological thriller

PUBLISHED: 15:58 01 July 2017

Darren O'Sullivan is about to have his first book published and it is set in March, Cambridgeshire.

Darren O'Sullivan is about to have his first book published and it is set in March, Cambridgeshire.

Archant

Late nights on March railway station have inspired a new book set to launch next month.

Local author Darren O’Sullivan used to catch the late night train back to Peterborough from the town’s station when he worked for Fenland Arts and then 20Twenty Productions.

Now he is about to see a book which he thought up whilst waiting for the train published.

‘Our Little Secret’- a psychological thriller has recently been signed to HQ, an imprint of Harper Collins and is set for release later this month.

Darren explains: “The reason I have chosen March station is because the conception of the novel began there. I used to work for Fenland Arts and then 20twenty and I frequently took the late night train home to Peterborough. it was on a wet and windy May night the story began!”

‘Our Little Secret’ is a story that begins and ends at March Train Station and it follows Chris, he is ready to join his wife. He’s planned this moment for nearly a year. The date. The time. The train. But he hadn’t factored in Sarah.

“So when Sarah walks on to the platform and sees a man swaying at the edge she assumes he’s just had too much to drink. What she doesn’t expect is to stop a suicide.

“As Sarah becomes obsessed with discovering the secrets that Chris is clearly hiding, he becomes obsessed with stopping her, protecting her. But there are some secrets that are meant to stay buried…”

On July 28 Darren will be celebrating its release withat a launch event at Waterstones in Bridge Street, Peterborough.

The book, which is descrived as ‘perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Holly Seddon’ has already gathered some online praise on Netgalley where reviews and other authors have made comments.

Among them one from reviewer Greta Halliday who wrote: “This is one of the best books I have ever read. It was nail-biting and had me on edge from start to finish… a must buy!”

And author Rebecca Pugh said: “Darren O’Sullivan has a completely addictive writing style. It is intense, it is all-encompassing, it is gripping and it holds you rigid.”

The book is now available for pre-order on amazon:https://www.amazon.co.uk/Our-Little-Secret-gripping-psychological-ebook

More news stories

Thomas Clarkson Academy has become the first school in the area to start regularly donating its leftover food to the homeless.

A Whittlesey councillor has been re-elected chairman of Fenland District Council – just days after quitting her role as chairman of the local Conservative association.

A staff nurse from Wisbech has celebrated 50 years since she entered the profession – and has no intention of retiring just yet.

Take-away delivery drivers in the Fens have been warned to check they have the correct insurance cover.

Most read stories

HOT JOBS

Show Job Lists

Digital Edition

Image
Read the Wisbech Standard e-edition E-edition

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter